Posts Tagged ‘T-Pain’




OZONE Magazine today announced actor/comedian, DeRay Davis [MTV’s Wild ‘n’ Out, BET’s Comic View] as host for its 3rd Annual OZONE Awards show in Houston, Texas, Monday August 11th, at the George R Brown Convention Center. Topping the list of nominees for this year’s award ceremony is Lil Wayne, with 8 nominations in more than 5 categories including TJ’s DJ’s Hustler Award, Club Banger of the Year and Best Lyricist. Other Nominees include T-Pain, Rick Ross, Plies, Kanye West, Killer Mike, Trick Daddy, Shawty Lo, Bun B, Trey Songz, Flo Rida, Usher, Young Jeezy, DJ Khaled, Greg Street, Akon, Ice Cube, Snoop and The Game.


Honoring the memory of the late UGK rapper, Pimp C, OZONE will dedicate a new category, the “PIMP C AWARD (TRILLEST ARTIST)”, to a list of nominees who have expressed personal views and been outspoken about controversial topics in and outside of music. Nominees included Kanye West, David Banner, Killer Mike, Lil Wayne, Trae and Trick Daddy.


“We wanted to dedicate a category this year for the Trillest Artist Award,” explains OZONE Founder and producer of the OZONE Awards, Julia Beverly. “Since Pimp C was one of the most vocal members of our community we felt it was appropriate to name the award after him. While we are guests in Houston, we hope to do as much as we can to represent the city’s unique culture, which includes remembering Pimp C and other Texas legends who have passed, like DJ Screw, Big Hawk, Fat Pat and Big Moe.”


A complete list of nominees across more than 25 categories including “Best Rap Album”; “Breakthrough Artist”; “Best Rap Group”; Best Video”; and “DJ of The Year” are in the attached release.

To vote for this year’s nominees please log onto



About OZONE Magazine

Founded by Julia Beverly in 2002, OZONE Magazine represents the best in Southern rap music and is now internationally distributed at many major retail outlets and newsstands. The OZONE Awards are OZONE Magazine’s annual star studded award ceremony honoring the biggest names in Southern Hip Hop. The event honors Southern artists in over 20 different categories. Past participants include Lil Wayne, Ludacris, Rick Ross, Trick Daddy, UGK, Pitbull, David Banner, Trina, DJ Khaled, and DJ Drama. For more information, please visit



About TJ’s DJ’s Tastemakers Only Music Conference

TJ’s DJ’s was established in 1994 as an opportunity for thirsty DJs in North Florida and Southern Georgia to receive the best music first while providing powerful feedback that fuels the crucial decisions made by labels.  Over the years, TJ’s DJ’s has evolved to an organization that builds bridges with the quarterly Tastemakers Only/DJ Music Conferences including the annual partnership with OZONE Magazine’s OZONE Awards, takes advantage of technology by being the first urban pool to service CDs, incorporating mp3s to break music, utilizing the music traders on the message boards at to generate over 20 million hits per month, and provide first class promotions and consulting on how to navigate the dangerous waters of the music industry. For more information, please visit