Breakdown FM: Fear of a Dope Emcee-Meet Jahi (Mr International)

Posted: June 8, 2008 by bigced in Articles/Stories I ‘Stole’ From Other Sites, Interviews

(photo credit B Fresh Photography)

Listen to Breakdown FM Interview w/ Jahi
http://odeo.com/audio/19286333/view

We sat down and spoke with Cleveland born artist Jahi who now breaks bread here in the Bay Area. His music and approach to life is a breath of fresh air that helps set him apart from the many who are clamoring for fame, fortune and noteriety in this crumbling music industry.

His new album ‘Less Is More’ captures the totality of his music experiences which has had him travel all over and live for a time in Denmark.

Jahi has shown that he is an independent thinker who is willing to stand uncompromised on his positions and incorporate new styles and sounds that make his music hit.

Below is a nice interview he did the other day with JR over at the SF Bayview.
As you read the story enjoy the Breakdown FM interview

Davey D

Grown folks music: an interview wit’ rapper Jahi
by the Minister of Information JR
Wednesday, 28 May 2008

http://www. sfbayview. com/News/Display_this_week/Grown_folks_music_an_interview_wit_rapper_Jahi. html

With the first generation of Hip Hoppers comfortably in their 40s, it’s about time that Hip Hop starts producing music for that age bracket.
Although Hip Hop is usually associated with young people, the people who grew up on RunDMC, Big Daddy Kane, Digable Planets, Brand Nubian, NWA, Digital Underground, Tupac, Rakim and Native Tongues are at the age where they have children who are the age that they were when they were listening to this stuff.

So that’s where an artist like Jahi comes in and allows aging Hip Hoppers to still listen to Hip Hop without having to listen to lyrics aimed at 17-year-olds. He is an up and coming artist who has been showcased internationally and rocked with some of the biggest names in the art form.

In his 30s, Jahi still maintains a level of integrity that is rarely displayed in hungry artists of any age. Whether you see Jahi on the stage rapping or in the streets aiding and assisting on community campaigns, he is the same sincere dude who is trying to right the wrongs that the government forces its low income Black population to live with.

I’ve heard about six of the tracks off of the new album “Less is More,” and in those chosen few I see why many have said that Jahi and mature voices in the genre like him are the future of Hip Hop. Check out Jahi in his own words and go buy the newly released album “Less is More.

MOI JR: Being in the era of Hip Hop where grown men act like teenagers on the mic, what motivated you to write “Less is More,” a Hip Hop album for grown people?

Jahi: First, let me say thanks to you and the Bay View for continuing to give a voice to the voiceless. My motivation to write this project came together in an organic way. I really wasn’t planning to record or do an album. I’ve been pretty disgusted with the music industry in the U.S., and even to some degree with so called conscious Hip Hop.

I connected with Big Tunes, a Bay Area new producer, and the vibes were in the right place. I decided that, one, I would not overkill it like most of these rappers out here with 17, 18, 20 tracks on an album. Two, since I come from the school of Hip Hop that says be yourself, stay original and innovate, I decided I would not follow any trends or try to fit in to grown men acting like kids.

Three, I wanted to do a project with hidden meanings – seven tracks, seven years since I’ve been connected to the Bay, seven styles that are unapologetically grown and not kiddish, seven energies that correlate with seven charkas … etc. The title “Less is More” is subliminal as well. Less bullshit, more substance. Less rhyming, more meaning. You can take it many ways.

MOI JR: You have traveled all over the world and rocked stages.
Can you tell those among us who strictly get their Hip Hop from commercial radio what they are missing?

Jahi: What we are missing is simply balance and variety. I could actually deal with some of the music on the radio if there was a balance. I don’t want to hear conscious music all day either. I like the production on Messy Marv’s albums as well as Snoop, as well as Estelle, as well as The Roots. I think in this ipod generation, people have given up on commercial radio and become their own DJs.

MOI JR: Can you tell the people a little bit about the inspiration behind your latest record “Less Is More”? Why did you choose the production you chose as well as the collabos that you chose?

Jahi: Well, I think I covered most of that already, but I’ll go deeper and break down each song: “Hop For Hire”, that title, comes from DJs in the 70s and 80s who would put these stickers on the back of their vans when they were out giggin. In that song I talk about places I’ve played, and it was that spirit that inspired the song.

“The Right Way” is a song about approaching a woman from a man’s perspective. Most of these rappers, even some of the so-called conscious ones, are still being directly or indirectly disrespectful to women. And some women think a man treating them in a negative way is cool, and I wanted to remind women that there are men out here who are not on that stupid shit.

Also, I have sons and wanted to teach a lesson through the music. “Every Word” was recorded at Onefam Studios, and I just got into my reflective zone. “Explore” featuring Gift of Gab was a big record because Gab and I have been friends for seven years and this was the first time we got together. There are real spiritual words in the music if you listen.

“Let it Out” is on some Jungle theme and I just wanted to stretch my creativity and do the unexpected. Hip Hop can be so boring and mundane sometimes.

“What We Can Do” was my response to the cultural folks who sit around all day and complain. I’m sick of that. There’s is always something we can do in the face of oppression.

Finally “This Side” is my “I’m loving California, let’s do it big, party, enjoy ourselves, and have a good time.” Most people who do party records can’t do it in a clean kind of way. When I party, I’m not on some young boy vibe. I party like a grown man who does not want any drama, dance a bit, enjoy the vibe and leave in peace.

Big Tunes produced most of the record. I produced “The Right Way,” and the rest of the producers are people I just connected with. Oh, I put Rev. Al Sharpton on the record because I like what he had to say. I got that clip when he did the eulogy for James Brown.

MOI JR: Your music is hot.
Why isn’t it on the radio? Can you tell the readers how commercial radio works from the perspective of an independent artist?

Jahi: My music is not on the radio because I’m not on Sony, Universal, EMI or Warner Brothers. Most people you hear that are not on these labels have a short shelf life on standard music airwaves. I would love to hear my music on the radio with everyone else, and any artist that is just saying f— radio is just pissed off.

It’s the best feeling in the world to hear your song on the radio. I released a record on EMI, a major in Europe, and I got major radio play and it was really satisfying. I really can’t speak to how commercial radio works from a perspective of an independent artist because I don’t focus on it. Why beat my head up against a brick wall only to get turned away.

I can connect with Internet Radio, satellite Radio or create my own radio show podcast as a response to no commercial radio play. College radio, which is starting to become challenging and co-opted a little still is probably the best outlet for an independent artist trying to get radio play.

MOI JR: In a recent conversation we had, you said you were getting rid of the backpacker Hip Hop artist image.
Why?

Jahi: I really never had that image, but sometimes I get lumped in with all these other artists who have been trying to shake that image off as well. Backpacker Hip Hop to me is The Cool Kids, for example, and I think it’s really corny. What I really mean is that not only am I trying to show people that men over 30 can still rhyme, make songs of substance … and I’m not just trying to perform in front of spoiled white kids in Idaho.

My music is first for Black people, then the world. I write from a perspective as a Black man, and the backpacker image sometimes means that you are on the college circuit in front of white kids and never hit the mature adult Black audience.

Also, I got to put this out there: I’m also shaking the comparisons to Talib Kweli, Common, Mos Def etc. Although I respect SOME of their music, they are not me. They can’t speak for me nor tell my story. And my voice tone is different, my message is different. We are in similar lanes, but my image, my music and my passion is unique in its own right.

Also, for example, when I do a Jungle track like “Let It Out,” people flip out or don’t know how to take it because they can’t reference it. Ultimately, the image I’m looking to project is that I’m an emcee who respects what I do as an art form like a jazz musician. I am a grown man and not really creating songs for kids – if they dig it, cool, by all means – and I pride myself on bringing it live on a high level. If you are in the Bay, come see it for yourself.

MOI JR: What are the biggest challenges facing independent artists today? And are they in a better situation than artists from different eras considering that now y’all have myspace, youtube and the internet in general?

Jahi: I think the biggest challenge indie artists have is thinking they can cut corners and get quality music. People get Protools, buy a beat online, record it without mixing or mastering it, and then wonder why they are not respected in the marketplace because they don’t stand up with the major players … indie or otherwise.

Music in general is overflooded, and I think indie artists, who can’t find a niche market, build a fan base or get their music out just get frustrated and give up. Also, I think a lot of indie artists are being influenced and pressured by the perception of a “rap” or Hip Hop artist, and when they can’t keep up the front and have to deal with reality, it can mess with their psyche.

In terms of youtube, myspace etc., all these are great avenues, but it still is not the whole package. They are tools. Independent artists need to know about marketing, publishing, licensing, promotions, legal aspects etc. to really be able to position themselves to make the most of these tools. But I will say that I’ve met musicians all over the world from myspace and that was a wonderful thing.

MOI JR: Can you let the people know where they could hear and buy your music?

Jahi: At www. cdbaby. com/jahilife3 or at any shows I’m playing in The Bay. Also iTunes, Amazon, Target, HMV Digital, Virgin Digital, Wal-Mart … anywhere you buy music digitally.

The album is out May 27th and the release party is on the 28th at Blake’s in Berkeley. Folks can go also to www. onefam. biz to stay in touch and get linked or www. onefamspot. ning. com/profile/jahi. Good music always gets through.

Email POCC Minister of Information JR at blockreportradio@gmail. com www. blockreportradio. com, hiphopwarreport. com and myspace. com/blockreportfilm.

Leave a comment